Redundancy = It has to end soon !

Well here I am again…another week almost over and still no employment.

Since my last blog, in which I advised that I would be going for the third interview….. and to keep all fingers crossed…

Well it didn’t turn out to be gainful employment. Instead after three interviews I received the news that there was no job offer. Frustrating? Hell yes !

The process started with this company some three months ago. After hefty parking fees to attend each interview ( I think in total they amount to $124) long trips to the Qantas lounge (from my home that’s about 60km each way) and the time in preparing for these meetings I am left feeling a little peeved. I am trying not to be bitter, but it is hard.

What am I doing wrong. I felt so good after the third interview. 

I have decided that once this is all over and I am back working, I will have a whole new respect for the job seeker.  I myself as an employer had become complacent to the gruelling exercise that looking for employment is. I will make sure I return phone calls. I will make sure I advise applicants if they are unsuccessful. I will offer advice and feedback when they are unsuccessful following interviews.  It is so disappointing that so many professionals think it is beneath them to have some empathy for those going through this revolting process. 

Some suggest that it is a therapeutic process and that it can be a journey of self discovery. Rubbish. 

I know I am employable. I know my skills are broad and transferable and I know that I bring absolute value to any business. I did nothing wrong, the company restructured leaving me without a job. Yet why do I sense a stigma attached to being in redundancy mode?

I have had sleepless nights wondering where I am going wrong. I have dark thoughts about my self worth and have questioned my abilities and whether they are indeed a figment of my imagination. 

Any advice would be welcome. For eight months I have remained up beat and ready to take on the world…. the world doesn’t seem to want me.  

Suggestions…..

 

About Daughter in Law

I have been married for 35 years, great family and friends. I am a career driven lady, with a zest for life. Being married for this long has been a journey. I married young, was madly in love and no one could have stopped me from marrying the guy I loved. This blog is a journey through the years of my marriage. The trials of marrying an only child, dealing with a very possessive mother in law and managing the constant interference. This is also therapy for me, as having tried so hard to keep a relationship with my mother-in-law, it did deteriorate. This could be some words of advice to anyone in love, blinded by love and embarking on a journey similar to mine. I always said I would write a book, maybe this is the first step to doing that. This is my story, my diary of being a daughter in law.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment